Monthly Snapshots

May, June & July| The Ones Where I Didn’t Blog

snapchat-5079352017864609461.jpgHola, everybody! I hope you have all been well. For me, the past few months have been a mixture of stressful days and total bliss (now there’s an antithesis). May was filled with studying for my third year exams and June and July are still filled with me studying for further exams but, for some reason, I am not finding it as stressful (probably because I can study at home and not have to worry about timetabled lectures and seminars!).

 

So, to keep in line with the way I run my life (in lists), here is a list of things I have been up to for the past two months:

  • Spending time with my Mother

This is something I rarely get to do when I am away at university. But now that I am home for the summer (albeit, still studying for two exams at the same time), I have been able to spend a lot more time with my mother. She continues to teach me how to cook foods in different ways AND, now this is a complete difference in the way we spend time together; we STUDY together. My mum has taken up a course in the field she works in, in order to further herself and so, on her days off from work, we sit in the living room, books sprawled out, studying away.

It may not sound like much but I look forward to those days.

  • My previous attempts at layer cakes have never gone well. But this one did and I am very proud of it!

    Baking multiple layer cakes

To bring in the new month of May, I decided to bake a cake. Usually, when I have baked cakes, they have been in the form of cupcakes. However, this time, I decided to get over my fear (and ignore my past efforts which have gone horribly wrong).

After my first attempt, I did continue to make layer cakes, just to keep practising. Although, I do have to admit, I did stress myself out a few times, whilst icing, so my friend would have to take over at times.

I enjoy baking, the batter-making part, but, for some reason, I get very stressed out when it comes to icing the cake! I suppose it doesn’t help that I tend to bake quite late at night and so, once the cake has cooled down, it is around 12/1am when I begin icing…

  • Working as a Welcome Team Assistant (at my university)

snapchat-7921945306165379333.jpgI started working in July and I have been enjoying it immensely! The role of this job is to welcome new students to the university. Currently, I have been assisting in helping Korean and Chinese students who have come to the university on exchange programmes. So far, I have done airport pickups (involving large groups of students; imagine 15-20 people surrounding you, as you tick off their names from a register, in the middle of a busy airport terminal… boy did that take me out of my comfort zone!), campus and city tours and assisting through induction and enrolment processes.

Right now, the job hasn’t been too difficult but, apparently, when September comes, it is going to become a lot hectic! That’s definitely going to be an experience…

And that sums up my past three months! They have been a mixture of working, studying, and spending time with my mother. I don’t know about you, but I think that sounds like a great time. I enjoy working, studying keeps my day structured and I get to spend time with my mother!

Until my next post,

WordsCoffee&LaceDresses,

signing off

x0x0

2 thoughts on “May, June & July| The Ones Where I Didn’t Blog

  1. It’s great to hear from you! I was just thinking about you the other day and wondering how you were getting on! I’m happy to hear that you have a job you like, because that makes life much more enjoyable.

    Like

    1. Great to hear from you too! A job does make life much more enjoyable; it gives you so many different experiences as well

      Hope you have had a wonderful day!

      Liked by 1 person

Comment below...